Graphing time

Graphs are awesome. They can convey so much information at a glance. I was inspired by a recent blog post by Heather Doran, in which she included a pie chart breaking down what doing her PhD thesis looks like. So I decided to make my own chart of what I spend most of my time working doing (minus lunch and the odd tea break that is).

graph

Part of me was very tempted to actually try to keep track for a few weeks and use real data for the graph but really, I’ve got plenty of more useful things to be getting on with! So this is more a hypothesised subjective feeling of what it is I do. It is probably quite different from the beginning of my PhD this time last year (I think the reading/taking notes bit would have been more than half of the pie then) and probably equally different to what my PhD life will be like in a year.

Leave a Reply

